Official Series Partners


ERC Barum Czech Rally Zlin facts and stats

2019-08-10T22:13:12+01:00August 9th, 2019|2019, Barum Czech Rally Zlín|

The FIA European Rally Championship heads to Czech Republic for more action-packed entertainment next week (16-18 August). Here’s a selection of facts and stats.

What: FIA European Rally Championship round 6 of 8*
When: 16-18 August 2019
Where: Zlín, Czech Republic
Starts: 16h00, 16 August, Náměstí Míru, Zlín
Finishes: 16h58, 18 August, Náměstí Míru, Zlín
Stages: 15
Distance: 219.63 kilometres
Surface: Asphalt
ERC appearances (since 2004 restructuring): 15 (2004-2018)

*Also counting for: FIA ERC1 Junior Championship, FIA ERC3 Junior Championship, ERC2, ERC3, FIA European Rally Championship for Teams, ERC Nations’ Cup, ERC Ladies’ Trophy, Abarth Rally Cup

Recent winners:
2015-2018: Jan Kopecký/Pavel Dresler (ŠKODA Fabia R5)
2014: Václav Pech Jr/Petr Uhel (MINI John Cooper Works S2000)

Five facts:
1: Zlín’s rise from small town to big city is credited to Tomáš Bat’a, who founded a shoe factory there in 1894. His old office – located in a moving elevator – is preserved in the Regional Authority Building 21.
2: Now established as a bustling university city, Zlín’s south-eastern Moravia setting is 300 kilometres from the Czech capital Prague and 220 kilometres from the Austrian capital Vienna.
3: Zlín became Gottwaldov from 1949-1990 after the first Czech communist president, Klement Gottwald.
4: Barum Czech Rally Zlín ran for the first time in 1971 and turns 48 this year. Jan Halmažna took the inaugural honours in a ŠKODA 1100 MB.
5: Event sponsor Continental Barum’s giant tyre factory and distribution centre in nearby Otrokovice hosts the rally’s permanent service park.

Key timings:
Autograph session: 19h00, Tuesday 13 August, Zlaté Jablko Shopping Centre, Náměstí Míru, Zlín
Free Practice (for priority drivers): 08h00-09h30, 16 August, Pohořelice (4.40 kilometres)
Qualifying Stage (for priority drivers): 09h35-10h20, 16 August, Pohořelice (4.40 kilometres)
Shakedown (for non-priority drivers): 10h25-13h00, 16 August, Pohořelice (4.40 kilometres)
Ceremonial start: 16h00, 16 August, Náměstí Míru, Zlín
Finishing podium: 16h58, 18 August, Náměstí Míru, Zlín

More information/resources, including event itinerary, entry list and maps: