ERC Rally Islas Canarias

ERC Rally Islas Canarias
Date 04 - 06 May 2023
Headquarter Estadio de Gran Canaria / Gran Canaria Arena, Rally Islas Canarias
Categories ERC / ERC3 / ERC4
Entry list Download PDF
Map Download PDF
ERC appearances 8
Stages 13 stages (Download PDF)
Surface Asphalt
Watch the rally Live Stream

The rally in 100 words

With the stages climbing and descending at a frequent rate, drivers pay close attention to corner speed and lines to ensure optimal momentum is maintained, while precise car set-up and pacenote accuracy are vital. One of the notable features of the sealed stages is the abrasive surface, constructed partly from volcanic lava. It means grip levels are high and remain constant if it rains, although tyre wear can increase in dry conditions. However, with the opportunity to take ‘cuts’ through corners limited, the roads remain relatively debris-free. The rally’s 47´th edition marks a return to a more traditional May date.


Five facts

  • Run for the first time in 1977 as Rally El Corte Inglés, Gran Canaria’s largest shopping centre and event sponsor, the rally became part of the Spanish championship in 1979.
  • Elevation to European championship coefficient 10 status followed in 1982 before it became a fully-fledged round in 2013. The rally has been ever-present on the ERC roster since 2016.
  • Renamed Rally de Canarias and relocated to the south of Gran Canaria for 2002, the event returned to Las Palmas in 2004. The Rally Islas Canarias title was adopted for 2009 ahead of a move to the Intercontinental Rally Challenge from 2010.
  • The rally boasts a number of prominent former winners including Didier Auriol, Piero Liatti and Carlos Sainz, who claimed five consecutive victories in the 1980s.
  • Islas Canarias comes from the Latin Insula Canaria, or Island of the Dogs, which were believed to be a type of monk seal, while a dish of choice in the Canary Islands is ropa vieja, made from chicken, beef, potatoes and beans.

Top 5 Moments

Recent winners

Year Driver / Co-Driver Car
2022 Nil Solans / Marc Martí VW Polo Rally2 
2021 Alexey Lukyanuk / Alexey Arnautov Citroēn C3 Rally2
2020 Adrien Fourmaux / Renaud Jamoul Ford Fiesta R5 MkII
2019 Pepe López / Borja Rozada Citroën C3 R5
2018 Alexey Lukyanuk / Alexey Arnautov Ford Fiesta R5
2017 Alexey Lukyanuk / Alexey Arnautov Ford Fiesta R5