Official Series Partners


Kajetanowicz step up an inspiration to ERC aces

2018-07-16T12:39:23+02:00 July 12th, 2018|2018|

Confirmation of Kajetan Kajetanowicz’s second world championship appearance since his capture of a third FIA European Rally Championship title will provide further inspiration to a number of ERC drivers aiming to follow in his wheel tracks.

Kajetanowicz, who announced his participation on Germany’s round of the world series earlier this week, won a record three successive ERC titles with the LOTOS Rally Team, including in 2017 when he beat Bruno Magalhães to glory in a final-round decider.

For his graduation to rallying’s top tier this season, Kajetanowicz is embarking on what should amount to a four-event campaign in a Ford Fiesta R5. And of his Rallye Deutschland prospects, the Pole said: “The goal remains the same: we remember that in each rally this year we are rookies. However, according to our promises and also ambition, for sure we will do our best.”

Kajetanowicz appears on a long list of drivers with ERC experience competing in the FIA World Rally Championship. Here are 10 other recent examples:

Craig Breen: ERC runner-up 2015 > factory Citroën WRC driver 2018
Juho Hänninen: ERC champion 2012 > factory Toyota WRC driver 2017
Jari Huttunen: ERC Junior U27 runner-up 2017 > factory Hyundai WRC2 driver 2018
Jan Kopecký: ERC champion 2013 > APRC champion 2014, factory ŠKODA WRC2 driver 2018
Esapekka Lappi: ERC champion 2014 > factory Toyota WRC driver 2018
Jari-Matti Latvala: ERC driver 2003 > factory Toyota WRC driver 2018
Stéphane Lefebvre: ERC Junior champion 2014 > factory Citroën WRC driver 2018
Andreas Mikkelsen: ERC event winner 2012 > factory Hyundai WRC driver 2018
Thierry Neuville: ERC event winner 2011 > factory Hyundai WRC driver 2018
Ott Tänak: ERC event winner 2014 > factory Toyota WRC driver 2018

Meanwhile, the 2018 ERC season resumes on Rally di Roma Capitale in Italy from 20-22 July.