Official Series Partners


ERC PZM Rally Poland facts and stats

2018-09-15T07:38:57+02:00September 15th, 2018|2018, PZM 75th Rally Poland|

It’s PZM Rally Poland time next week (21-23 September). Here are some essential facts and stats ahead of the FIA European Rally Championship qualifier.


75: Run for the first time in 1921 from the capital Warsaw, PZM Rally Poland is turning 75 this season, making it the second oldest rally in the world behind Rallye Monte-Carlo.

3: Kajetan Kajetanowicz’s third Rally Poland victory in 2013 was also the first in the ERC by an R5 car. By 2017 he’d claimed the coveted European title a record-breaking three years in succession.

1: Esapekka Lappi won Rally Poland in 2012. He became ERC champion two seasons later and is now an established factory driver in the world championship.

3: Polish national hero Krzysztof Hołowczyc is a three-time Rally Poland winner but there will be no chance of a fourth win in 2018: the 1997 ERC champion’s role is restricted to course car-driving duties only.

2: Two former Polish champions will chase Rally Poland success: Grzegorz Grzyb and Łukasz Habaj.


*A founding round of the world championship in 1973 when current FIA President Jean Todt co-drove Achim Warmbold to victory on what was then a Tarmac event, Rally Poland’s ERC links date back to 1960 when German pair Walter Schock-Moll and Rolf Moll triumphed in a Mercedes-Benz 220 SE.

*Mikołajki in the picturesque Masurian lake district has been Rally Poland’s base since 2005, which marked the event’s switch from asphalt to gravel stages.

*A three-hour drive north of Warsaw, Mikołajki is home to the gigantic Hotel Gołębiewski, which doubles as event HQ and has grounds large enough to accommodate the rally’s service park and superspecial.

*With the exception of the Mikołajki Arena stage, only the 19.60-kilometre Świętajno test, complete with the famous Rosochackie jump, is unaltered from 2017. Meanwhile, the Pozedrze stage is all-new for 2018.

*Pole Sobiesław Zasada, who became outright ERC champion in 1971 after taking two category titles in the 1960s, is the most successful driver in Rally Poland history with four wins.

Photo: Zbigniew Kołodziejek/Rally Poland