Date 25 - 27 March 2022
Categories ERC / ERC3 / ERC4
Entry list Download PDF
Headquarters Pavilhão do Mar – Portas do Mar, Av. Infante D. Henrique, 9500 Ponta Delgada, Açores
ERC appearences 8
Stages Download itinerary PDF
Surface Gravel
Watch the rally WRC+ (ALL stages LIVE!)

The rally in 100 words

Based on the mid-Atlantic Ocean archipelago’s largest island of São Miguel, the rally turned 55 in 2021 and remains one of the most spectacular events on the international calendar. Stages criss-cross breath-taking scenery and lush countryside and are characterised by their sandy surface and narrow and undulating nature. And because the timed tests are often no wider than the width of a car, there is simply no margin for error, particularly on the Sete Cidades test along the rim of a volcanic crater lake. Changeable weather is also a factor with conditions switching from sunshine to showers and fog patches.


Five facts

  • When it comes to Azores Rallye success look no further than Fernando Peres, the event’s record-holding seven-time winner.
  • While Ricardo Moura has multiple Azorean championship titles to his name, his Azores Rallye triumph in 2016 was his first on his home round of the ERC.
  • Other winners include WRC stars past and present, such as Craig Breen, Kris Meeke, Andreas Mikkelsen, Juha Kankkunen, Markko Märtin and Bruno Thiry.
  • The Azores archipelago is located roughly equidistant between Lisbon and New York and is made up of nine islands. The fertile soil is perfect for a variety of crops and grazing for livestock.
  • A typical Azorean meal is cozido das fumas stew, cooked in the ground using one pot only.


Recent winners

Year Driver / Co-Driver Car
2021 Andreas Mikkelsen/Elliott Edmondson Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo
2019 Łukasz Habaj/Daniel Dymurski Škoda Fabia R5 
2018 Alexey Lukyanuk/Alexey Arnautov Ford Fiesta R5
2017 Bruno Magalhães/Hugo Magalhães Škoda Fabia R5
2016 Ricardo Moura/António Costa Ford Fiesta R5