Date 11 - 13 March 2022
Categories ERC / ERC3 / ERC4 
Entry list Download PDF
Headquarters Parque da Cidade – Fafe
ERC appearances 1 (2021)
Stages 17 stages (196.21km)
Total Distance  783.55 kilometres
Surface Mainly gravel, some asphalt sections
Free Practice (for Rally2 drivers) Lagoa (3.04kms), 13h00, 11 March
Qualifying Stage (for Rally2 drivers) Lagoa (3.04kms), 15h00, 11 March
Shakedown (all other drivers) Lagoa (3.04kms), 16h30-18h30, 11 March
Watch the rally WRC+ (All stages live!)

The rally in 100 words

After rally-mad Fafe hosted the all-asphalt Rally Fafe Montelongo in 2020, last season marked the first time that the long-standing, gravel-based Rally Serras de Fafe e Felgueiras was part of the European schedule. This year’s 35th running of the event, a mainstay of the Portuguese championship, signals the start of the 2022 ERC season when the highlight will undoubtedly be the Lameirinha stage complete with the iconic Pedra Sentada jump, which has been part of rallying folklore for decades. And following the success of the 2021 edition, organisers are planning limited changes as they stick to a winning formula.


What’s new for 2022? 

  • Measuring 1.43 kilometres in length, the short, sharp Fafe Super Special Stage is new for 2022 and gets underway at 21h08 local time on Friday 11 March as the first of 17 stages. Running through the heart of Fafe town centre, the stage is open to spectators and is also close to the event service park. Crews tackle the test one by one and will be challenged by sections of asphalt and cobblestones plus an off-camber roundabout. The stage also includes a blast down a side street, a narrow hairpin turn, a downhill section and a point where drivers must perform donuts before they continue on their way.


Five facts

  • Rallying is such a big deal in Fafe that the town houses its own museum celebrating the sport’s long-standing link to the region, the Museu do Rali.
  • And Lameirinha – complete with the iconic Pedra Sentada jump – is the stage that’s intrinsically linked to Rally Serras de Fafe e Felgueiras.
  • As well as winning the Azores Rallye more times than any of his rivals, Fernando Peres holds the record for the most victories on what is now Rally Serras de Fafe e Felgueiras with six wins. Bruno Magalhães and Carlos Bica are equal second on the list having both triumphed on three occasions.
  • Fafe isn’t just home to mainland Portugal’s round of the ERC, it’s also home to leading co-driver Hugo Magalhães, who received special recognition in October 2020 for his achievements in rallying and the ambassadorial role he performs for Fafe.
  • The inclusion of St.a Quitéria – Felgueiras and the mythical Seixoso test in the Felgueiras municipality resulted in the inclusion of Felgueiras in the event title for the 2021 edition.


Recent winners

Year Driver / Co-Driver Car
2021 Andreas Mikkelsen/Elliott Edmondson Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo
2020 (Non-ERC event) Armindo Araújo/Luís Ramalho Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo
2019 (Non-ERC event) Dani Sordo/Carlos del Barrio Hyundai i20 R5
2018 (Non-ERC event) Ricardo Moura/António Costa Ford Fiesta R5
2017 (Non-ERC event) Pedro Meireles/Mário Castro Škoda Fabia R5