Pirelli celebrates multiple ERC title triumph

Pirelli celebrates multiple ERC title triumph

09/10/2017 12:00

Pirelli captured a clean-sweep of FIA European Rally Championship titles as the 2017 season reached its climax on Rally Liepāja yesterday.

Completing a triumphant day, Pirelli drivers locked out the overall podium on the mainly gravel event, which took place amid challenging and changeable weather conditions.

Pirelli rally activity manager Terenzio Testoni said: “This latest result brings our achievements in 2017 to a brilliant conclusion. And it’s a result that is significant for many reasons. The European championship is the key international series for privateer drivers. There’s an extremely varied calendar in terms of conditions, weather and terrain – which makes it extremely demanding and important when it comes to demonstrating the capabilities of our products: P Zero for asphalt, Scorpion for gravel and Cinturato for rain.

“The European championship has also emerged as the principal arena for up-and-coming stars of the future: an integral part of Pirelli’s sporting philosophy. Special congratulations to Kajetan Kajetanowicz, who becomes the first driver to win the European Rally Championship three consecutive times.”

José Suárez completed his maiden season of FIA European Rally Championship action by finishing second among the ERC Junior U28 contingent on Rally Liepāja to secure third in the final class reckoning.

Krisóf Klausz’s strong end to the 2017 FIA ERC Junior Under 27 Championship continued when he finished sixth in class on Rally Liepāja.

Aleks Zawada says there were “a lot of positives” after his bid for the FIA ERC Junior Under 27 Championship – and the 100,000 euros prize fund – ultimately ended in disappointment in Latvia earlier this month.

Kalle Rovanperä says Nikolay Gryazin is the ultimate rival after the talented young guns locked horns on the closing round of the 2017 FIA European Rally Championship recently.

Jari Huttunen has spoken of his disappointment after losing out on the FIA ERC Junior Under 27 title to Opel team-mate Chris Ingram in a final-round decider in Latvia earlier this month.

Łukasz Habaj wishes his first podium in the FIA European Rally Championship had come in happier circumstances.