Wed 20 Apr 2022

Michelin to help British champion progress to ERC

Tyre firm Michelin is upping its FIA European Rally Championship (ERC) involvement by forging an alliance between the world’s oldest international rally series and its national equivalent, the Motorsport UK British Rally Championship.

If a BRC1 driver wins the 2022 BRC title having used Michelin tyres throughout the season and then progresses to the ERC in 2023, they will receive four tyres on each round of next year’s European championship.

And should the 2022 Michelin-equipped BRC champion be under 28 years old at the start of next year, they will also be eligible for the ERC-Michelin Talent Factory incentive scheme, which this season is offering the best-placed member after six rounds 16 tyres for each of the remaining two rounds of the campaign.

Michelin Motorsport’s Tim Hoare said: “Michelin Motorsport is delighted to be able to offer additional future support for the British Rally Champion if they are looking to progress into Europe next season. It’s a substantial tyre package and Michelin has always been supportive of talented drivers throughout the decades. As well as the ERC-Michelin Talent Factory tyre offer, this bolsters the incentive and means we will be alongside to help them make that leap and substantially reduce the costs associated with contesting a world-class championship.”

The BRC began in 1958, five years after the ERC started in 1953. Graduates include former world champions Richard Burns and Colin McRae, plus other notable names such as Craig Breen, Elfyn Evans and Jari-Matti Latvala. Sébastien Ogier also gained BRC experience when he took a class victory on the Ulster International Rally in 2008.

Corbeau Seats Rally Tendring & Clacton opens the 2022 BRC season this weekend (23-24 April). Osian Pryce and Rhys Yates, who undertook a programme of ERC events in 2018, are among the BRC1 frontrunners who used Michelin tyres last season.

More news
Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM