Tue 03 May 2022

Solans return spotlights Canaries entry

Nil Solans will return to FIA European Rally Championship (ERC) action at Rally Islas Canarias next week (12 - 14 May).

The entry list, released on Tuesday evening, features 18 registered crews in Rally2 cars as well as a handful of ERC Open and ERC3 challengers. A remarkable 23 Rally4 and Rally5 cars are also listed, 14 of which will fight for first-round honours in the Junior ERC. 

Solans was the class of the field at Rally Serras de Fafe - Felgueiras - Cabreira e Boticas in March, but budget constraints sidelined the Spaniard for round two at the Azores Rallye. 

A change in fortune means that Solans will be back fighting for victory at this season’s third round and he will carry number two on the doors of his Volkswagen Polo.

Azores winner Efrén Llarena heads the line-up for the opening asphalt rally of the year in his Škoda Fabia. He is joined by Team MRF Tyres team-mates Simone Campedelli and Norbert Herczig.

Alberto Battistolli’s Fabia is back to full health following is final-stage rollover last time out, while Tarmac titan Simon Wagner plus Simone Tempestini and Javier Pardo have all entered similar cars.

Four-time French Tarmac champion Yoann Bonato wheels out a Citroën C3 for his first outing of the season. He will definitely be one to watch having finished runner-up in the Canaries in 2020. 

Other Rally2 entrants include Pep Bassas, Grzegorz Grzyb, and Miguel Ángel Suárez in a trio of Fabias plus Lukasz Kotarba and Rachele Somaschini in Citroën cars. Suzuki partners Joan Vinyes and Alberto Monarri are targeting ERC Open victory in Swift machines. 

Igor Widłak is the sole Ford Fiesta Rally3 entrant, while Jon Armstrong (Fiesta) and Anthony Fotia (Renault Clio) top the ERC4 runners. 

Frenchman Laurent Pellier (Opel Corsa), Óscar Palomo (Peugeot 208) and Andrea Mabellini (Clio) lock out the leading three ERC Junior entries, with Paulo Soria heading up the Clio Trophy by Toksport WRT field. 

The three-day fixture is based in Gran Canaria, from where competitors will tackle 13 special stages covering over 190km.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM