Mon 15 Aug 2022

Barum Czech Rally Zlín: Entry List

The entry list has been revealed today (Monday) for the penultimate round of this year’s FIA European Rally Championship: Barum Czech Rally Zlín (26 - 28 August).

The list contains 17 top-tier Rally2 cars as well as 14 entrants in ERC4, 12 of which are also eligible to score FIA Junior ERC points. The Clio Trophy by Toksport WRT - which concludes in Zlín - also boasts a capacity entry. 

Championship leader Efrén Llarena heads the line-up for the seventh round of the season in a Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo. 

The Spaniard simply needs to score 12 points to be crowned champion and is joined in his Team MRF Tyres squad by colleagues Simone Campedelli, Javier Pardo and Norbert Herczig.

Simone Tempestini will steer a Michelin-shod Fabia and, while the Romanian is still in with a mathematical chance of the title, he is reliant on Llarena having a poor result to stay in contention.

Jan Kopecky starts as one of the key favourites for victory. A Škoda stalwart, Kopecky is a nine-time winner of this event and has stood atop the podium every year since 2015. Other local stars include Fabia man Filip Mareš - twice a podium-finisher in Zlín - as well as Erik Cais in a Ford Fiesta Rally2. 

Alberto Battistolli and Simon Wagner both field similar Fabia cars, while Ken Torn has regular co-driver Kauri Pannas back alongside in his Fiesta machine.

Tom Kristensson wheels out his KOWAX 2BRally Racing Hyundai i20 R5 for the first time since Tet Rally Liepāja, while team owner Martin Viček has entered an identical i20 with Alexandra Skripová calling the pace notes. Petr Semerád, Martin László and Albert Von Thurn und Taxis also feature in a trio of Škodas.

Laurent Pellier tops the Junior ERC entry in an Opel Corsa Rally4. Victory at the three-day fixture would guarantee the Frenchman the title, but he’ll have to outpace rivals including Óscar Palomo (Peugeot 208 Rally4) and Andrea Mabellini (Renault Clio Rally4) for that to happen. ERC3 championship leader Igor Widlak is the sole entrant in his category. 

Seven identical Renault Clio Rally5 cars feature on the entry for the final round of the Clio Trophy by Toksport WRT. 

Argentine Paulo Soria remains undefeated with four wins from four starts this season. However, with double points on offer at the finale, Sergio Fuentes and Giorgio Cogni are still in contention for the title.  

  • Full coverage from Barum Czech Rally Zlín will be available on WRC+ All Live here, including every stage broadcast as it happens as well as key interviews, features and expert analysis from the service park.
Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM