Mon 12 Dec 2022

ERC champions honoured at FIA Prize Giving

2022 FIA European Rally champions Efrén Llarena and Sara Fernández were honoured during an official FIA Prize Giving ceremony in Italy last weekend.

The Team MRF Tyres duo joined prize winners from other FIA support championships on Saturday morning in Bologna to receive the driver and co-driver trophies they duly earned by taking the ERC title with a dominant 67-point advantage. 

Also in attendance was Mr. Arun Mammen, Vice-Chairman & Managing Director of MRF Tyres, who joined team representative Vivek Ponnusamy to accept the teams’ trophy from FIA President Mohammed Ben Sulayem. 

2022 was a groundbreaking year for MRF. Aside from claiming its maiden pair of ERC rally wins, Llarena and Fernández’s overall title ensured the tyre giant became the first-ever Indian manufacturer to win a top-level championship in European rallying.

The ERC also celebrated a podium of its own in the FIA’s Action of the Year competition. Simone Tempestini’s heart-in-mouth overtake of Javier Pardo at the Azores Rallye came third behind WRC and Formula One.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM