Mon 09 Jan 2023

Sesks wins Standout Drive of the Year for Liepāja dominance

Fans of the FIA European Rally Championship (ERC) have voted Mārtiņš Sesks’ dominant triumph at Tet Rally Liepāja as the Standout Drive of 2022.

Latvian hotshot Sesks blew away the opposition at his home event as he flew to an ERC record, winning all 12 stages of the championship’s fifth round. He dominated the fan poll, securing 58.2 per cent of the votes.

Sesks was, for the first time, driving a Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo for Team MRF Tyres, who put him in the car after being impressed by his performances in the ERC Open class earlier in the season.

It was a dream weekend for the Indian tyre giant as Sesks’ colleague – and eventual drivers’ champion – Efrén Llarena secured a 1-2 finish for the team.

Second place in the poll went to Nil Solans, whose Rally Serras de Fafe - Cabreira e Boticas victory earned him 16.5 per cent of the vote, while third went to Jan Kopecký for his win at Barum Czech Rally Zlín.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM