Wed 11 Jan 2023

ERC fans select Llarena as 2022 Driver of the Year

Efrén Llarena has been voted the 2022 ERC Driver of the Year by fans in a poll conducted on over the month of December.

The Team MRF Tyres driver, who wrapped up the ERC title with two rounds to spare, received a commanding 61.7 per cent of all votes - easily securing the accolade.

Llarena’s team-mate and fellow Spaniard Javier Pardo came second with 12.2 per cent of the vote, while Citroën C3 Rally2 star Yoann Bonato rounded out the top three with 8.1 per cent.

Consistency paid off for Llarena and co-driver Sara Fernández as the duo became the 2022 FIA European Rally Champions before even starting the penultimate round at Barum Czech Rally Zlín. The pair made headlines earlier in the season when they overhauled Ricardo Moura to clinch victory at the Azores Rallye after a monumental Power Stage push.

Llarena is expected to defend his crown in 2023. The season gets underway in March at Rally Serras de Fafe Felgueiras Cabreira e Boticas.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM