Thu 26 Jan 2023

Tricky Tarmac test awaits ERC stars in Gran Canaria

Outline details of Rally Islas Canarias, the first all-asphalt event of the 2023 FIA European Rally Championship season, have been revealed with a 13-stage route over a distance of approximately 190 kilometres set to provide a tough test.

The 47th edition of Rally Islas Canarias, which counts as round two of the upcoming ERC season from 4 - 6 May, features several highlights including a new super special stage in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, plus a stage close to 30 kilometres in length.

And with the event also counting as a round of the Supercampeonato de España (S-CER), strong competition is expected from Spanish crews who will use the rally to showcase their skills at international level.

Event organiser Todo Sport said in a statement: “With less than 100 days to go before the curtain rises, the 47th Rally Islas Canarias has already defined its route. For the moment it’s kept secret, although some details have been sent to the participating teams and also to the fans to open their mouths. The week of the rally will be full of activity with the tests, the recce as well as the presentations that the different teams carry out and that the fans will enjoy like nowhere else.”

Based at the Estadio de Gran Canaria and Gran Canaria Arena complex, the rally has been a mainstay of the ERC since 2016 having enjoyed a long association with the championship prior to then.

One of the notable features of the event’s sealed stages is the abrasive surface, constructed partly from volcanic lava. It means grip levels are high and remain constant if it rains, although tyre wear can increase in dry conditions. However, with the opportunity to take ‘cuts’ through corners limited, the roads remain relatively debris-free.

With the stages climbing and descending at a frequent rate, drivers pay close attention to corner speed and lines to ensure optimal momentum is maintained, while precise car set-up and pacenote accuracy are vital.

Adrien Fourmaux, Pepe López, Nil Solans and double ERC champion Alexey Lukyanuk are among the former winners, while rallying legend Carlos Sainz holds the record of five victories.

The event is also a round of the Canary Islands championship.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM