Fri 03 Feb 2023

Excitement builds as ERC registrations open

Drivers and teams planning to contest the 2023 FIA European Rally Championship can now register to do so following the opening of the online entry procedure.

Available at, the entry portal gives details of the registration process and the fee payable to the FIA, the governing body of world motorsport and the administrator of the ERC.

Only registered drivers can score points and benefit from the substantial coverage and media exposure opportunities available through an ERC campaign.

Registrations can be made throughout the season but must be completed before the closing date of entries for the first event entered for a driver, co-driver or team to be eligible for points.

Launched in 1953, the FIA European Rally Championship turns 70 in 2023 with an eight-round calendar made up of four events on asphalt and four on gravel.

While the ERC remains a target destination for drivers of varying ages and levels of experience, it’s firmly established as the ultimate training ground for young talents aiming for the top of the sport.

With a clear path of progression from national level to the world stage to mirror the FIA Rally Sporting Pyramid, career-focused competitors can climb the ranks by getting their first taste of international competition in either Rally5 or Rally4 machinery before progressing to Rally3 and then to the ERC’s headlining Rally2 category.

Although the WRC is very much the next step for aspiring world champions, who can switch to WRC3 or WRC2 depending on their level of knowledge and financial resources, the ERC serves as a platform for all-comers to compete in an international environment.

FIA titles are awarded to the best placed overall driver, co-driver and team, the best placed ERC3 (for Rally3 cars) and ERC4 (for Rally4 and Rally5 cars) driver and co-driver and the best placed Junior ERC driver. The points allocation for all categories is specifically designed for more drivers to be rewarded more often.   

Each season, the ERC attracts drivers and co-drivers from around the world, but it was the Spanish crew of Efrén Llarena and Sara Fernández who came out on top in the 2022 overall title fight for Team MRF Tyres.

The 2023 ERC season fires into life on Rally Serras de Fafe in northern Portugal from 10 - 12 March.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM