Tue 21 Feb 2023

Champion Llarena back to defend ERC crown

Reigning FIA European Rally Champion Efrén Llarena will return to defend his title with the formidable Team MRF Tyres in 2023, as confirmed today (Tuesday).

In the first of several driver announcements from the Indian tyre giant, Llarena is set to contest his second season with the team after clinching his maiden ERC rally win and the championship title in 2022.

The Spaniard will once again be accompanied by co-driver Sara Fernández, twice an ERC champion herself. They will campaign a brand-new Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 - a move which is expected to give the duo a major boost as they aim for another successful year in the series.

Llarena, 27, is looking forward to the challenge ahead and is determined to repeat his success.

"Our objective is to try to win the championship again,” he told FIAERC.com “We know that it will be difficult and there are going to be a lot of really strong drivers, but let's see. The party is starting," he smiled.

But the path to victory will be a challenging one, with some of the toughest competition yet set to face Llarena. He must also conquer his own nerves about the season-opening Rally Serras de Fafe, where a damaged radiator halted his charge last year.

“I don’t have great memories from Fafe, but I will try my best,” he explained. “Last year that rally was a disaster for us, but on the second day we had the pace to win, so let's see.”

Keep an eye on FIAERC.com throughout the coming days for more updates on Team MRF Tyres’ driver line-up for 2023.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM