Fri 10 Mar 2023

ERC format refresher

With Rally Serras de Fafe, Felgueiras, Boticas, Vieira do Minho e Cabeceiras de Basto opening the 2023 FIA European Rally Championship season later today, here’s a format refresher.

The ERC is made up of three principal categories, ERC (for Rally2 cars), ERC3 (for Rally3 cars) and ERC4(for Rally4 and Rally5 cars). In addition, Junior ERC is for drivers 27 and under on 1 January 2023 in Rally4 or Rally5 cars using Hankoook tyres.

ERC rallies are held over four days. The first one and a half days are dedicated to the reconnaissance. The focus then swiftly turns to Free Practice and the Qualifying Stage for Rally2 drivers. They get two runs in Free Practice and a single run over the Qualifying Stage, the results of which are used to help set the starting order for leg one. All other drivers complete their event preparations in shakedown, which starts once the Qualifying Stage has finished. Following the ceremonial start towards the end of day two, rally organisers can schedule a superspecial stage ahead of two full days of competitive action. All ERC events are decided on the event-closing Power Stage.

Start Order Selection:
The fastest 15 drivers on the Qualifying Stage select their starting position for leg one with the fastest qualifier picking first followed by the second fastest qualifier and so on until the top 15 fastest qualifiers have all made their selection. Any drivers with FIA Priority Status outside of the top 15 on the Qualifying Stage are next to make their selection followed by any drivers who scored points in the 2022 FIA European Rally Championship but not featuring in the top 15 Qualifying Stage classification or holding FIA Priority Status. This will be in descending order according to their final 2022 ranking. Any remaining Rally2 drivers not included in the above groups are the last to select their road position for leg one and will do so in descending order according to the Qualifying Stage classification.

Starting order:
Leg one: First 15 cars run at 2-minute intervals, rest at 1-minute intervals
Leg two: First 15 cars in the classification at the end of leg one run in reverse order at 2-minute intervals. The rest at 1-minute intervals.
Power Stage: Gaps to be decided by Stewards, Clerk of the Course and a WRC Promoter representative.

Points are awarded to the top 15 finishers in each category on the descending scale detailed below. As in previous seasons, the points system is the same as all other FIA Regional Rally Championships. 

1st = 30 points, 2nd = 24, 3rd = 21; 4th = 19; 5th = 17; 6th = 15; 7th = 13; 8th = 11; 9th = 9; 10th = 7; 11th = 5; 12th= 4; 13th = 3; 14th = 2; 15th = 1

In ERC, ERC3 and ERC4 drivers count their best seven scores from a possible eight. In Junior ERC (starting from Round 3) drivers count their best five rounds from six. The fastest five drivers on the Power Stage score points on a descending scale as follows: 1st = 5 points; 2 = 4; 3 = 3; 4 = 2; 5 = 1.

Under new rules for the FIA European Rally Championship for Teams, points are awarded to the top 15 overall eligible finishers, with the aim of providing more incentive for Rally2-equipped squads to enter the FIA European Rally Championship for Teams. As previously, a maximum of three cars can be registered for the purpose of scoring Teams’ championship points. A registered team entering more than three cars must nominate its scoring drivers prior to the completion of the administrative checking procedure. If no declaration is made, the team in question will not be eligible for points.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM