Thu 13 Jul 2023

ERC Tyre Trophy is go for 2024

A new award to recognise and incentivise tyre company participation in the FIA European Rally Championship will be introduced from the 2024 season following recent FIA World Motor Sport Council approval.

From 2024, firms registered as an official ERC tyre partner will contest the inaugural FIA European Rally Championship Tyre Manufacturers’ Trophy.

On each round, the two highest-placed cars from each registered tyre manufacturer will score points according to the same scoring system used within the championship.

Michelin, MRF and Pirelli have all won in 2023 with Hankook celebrating success in Junior ERC as the championship’s official tyre provider.

There is a strong level of tyre manufacturer participation in the ERC this season with Hankook, Michelin, MRF and Pirelli signed up as the championship’s official tyre partners. They are all actively engaged in the series by supporting drivers and teams plus ongoing development, albeit on a restricted and sustainable basis.

The creation of the ERC Tyre Manufacturers’ Trophy follows a proposal from the ERC championship promoter, WRC Promoter, to the FIA Rally Commission. The proposal then went to the FIA World Motor Sport Council during the Cordoba gathering in Spain last month where it was ratified.

Following three consecutive high-speed gravel events, the 2023 ERC season switches to Tarmac for the deciding rounds of the year. Rally di Roma Capitale in Italy is up first from 28 -30 July.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM