Thu 12 Oct 2023

Final ERC Winning Tyre award goes to Pirelli after wide-open Rally Hungary

Pirelli won the final ERC Winning Tyre award for 2023 as the FIA European Rally Championship’s four official tyre partners filled the top four positions on Rally Hungary last weekend.

It was a result that underlined the close nature of the competition in the ERC and came as Hankook scored its first overall podium of 2023, Michelin held the lead through Miko Marczyk, while MRF-equipped Mārtiṇš Sesks scored his maiden top-three finish in the ERC on asphalt.  

As well as securing second place in the FIA European Rally Championship for Drivers behind Pirelli-equipped Hayden Paddon, Sesks topped the list of stage winners with his fastest time on SS10 bringing his tally to 17 for the season. Team MRF Tyres celebrated winning the FIA European Rally Championship Teams on Barum Czech Rally Zlín in August.

The Hankook-supplied FIA Junior ERC Championship was settled in Norbert Maior’s favour (pictued below) ahead of Roberto Daprà, who clinched the FIA ERC4 title.  

Pirelli’s capture of the ERC Winning Tyre award on Rally Hungary came after Mads Østberg claimed his second ERC career victory and his first since he triumphed in Hungary in 2021. Co-driven by Patrik Barth in a Citroën C3 Rally2, Østberg had been in second place until Miklós Csomós, also on Pirelli tyres, crashed out on the penultimate stage.  

Hankook-equipped Hungarian champion Ferenz Vincze finished second with Sesks taking third and Yoann Bonato relying on Michelin tyres to finish fourth.

The ERC Winning Tyre award was introduced on Rally Islas Canarias in May to recognise the official FIA European Rally Championship tyre partner whose products equip the triumphant driver pairing on each of the remaining ERC events of the 2023 season.   

Hankook, Michelin, MRF and Pirelli are the ERC’s four official tyre partners with Hankook focusing its participation on its role as the official tyre supplier of the FIA Junior ERC Championship. They have all actively engaged in the series by supporting drivers and teams plus ongoing development, albeit on a restricted and sustainable basis.

From 2024, firms registered as an official ERC tyre partner will contest the inaugural FIA European Rally Championship Tyre Manufacturers’ Trophy.   

On each round, the two highest-placed cars from each registered tyre manufacturer will score points according to the same scoring system used within the championship.  

The creation of the FIA ERC Tyre Manufacturers’ Trophy follows a proposal from the ERC championship promoter, WRC Promoter, to the FIA Rally Commission. The proposal then went to the FIA World Motor Sport Council during the Cordoba gathering in Spain in June where it was ratified. More details will be revealed in the coming weeks.  

ERC Winning Tyre Award winners

Rally Islas Canarias: Michelin

ORLEN 79th Rally Poland: MRF

Tet Rally Liepāja: MRF

BAUHAUS Royal Rally of Scandinavia: Pirelli

Rally di Roma Capitale: Pirelli

Barum Czech Rally Zlín: Michelin

Rally Hungary: Pirelli

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM