Tue 21 Nov 2023

Snijers versus Zasada next after Kajetanowicz beats Rossetti in ERC Greatest Driver vote

Patrick Snijers stands in the way of more Polish success in the ERC Greatest Driver voting when he takes on Sobiesław Zasada in the second quarter-final today (Tuesday).

The vote follows on from Zasada’s compatriot, Kajetan Kajetanowicz, knocking out Luca Rossetti in Monday’s online poll to help determine who fans of the FIA European Rally Championship rate as the best of the best.  

Kajetanowicz picked up an impressive 80 per cent of the public vote to eliminate fellow three-time ERC champion Rossetti on Monday. The result continued the 44-year-old’s run of recent victories after he clinched the 2023 FIA WRC2 Challenger Championship on FORUM8 Rally Japan last weekend.  

Snijers, the European champion in 1994, holds the record of ERC wins with 43 triumphs. Nicknamed ‘De Lange’ or ‘The Tall One’, Belgian Snijers secured his quarter-final place by beating Frenchman Bernard Darniche in the round of 16 voting with a 79 per cent victory.   

Zasada, who won the FIA European Rally Championship three times and is still competing aged 93, made it through from the round of 16 after he received 76 per cent of the votes in a contest with Spain’s 1980 European title winner Antonio Zanini.  

Today’s vote to determine the second semi-finalist next week will be followed by two all-Italian battles. On Wednesday’s it’s the turn of Dario Cerrato and Giandomenico Basso to face-off for ERC Greatest Driver recognition. On Thursday, Fabrizio Tabaton and Renato Travaglia will go for the final semi-final spot.  

Sixteen drivers were originally selected for the ERC Greatest Driver vote with FIAERC.com taking a data-based approach to pick out 12 drivers who have won the coveted European Rally Championship at least two times. Four wildcards, based on their impact during a certain ERC era, were also selected. The ERC Greatest Driver, according to your votes, will be revealed on 1 December.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM