Thu 18 Apr 2024

Paddon’s BRC team heads the ERC entrants

BRC Racing Team’s Hayden Paddon might have been denied a shot at winning round one of the 2024 FIA European Rally Championship in Hungary last weekend during a dramatic event-deciding Power Stage, but the Italian outfit is still very much on top.

With 30 points scored, BRC Racing Team leads the FIA European Rally Championship for Teams, six points ahead of ACCR Orsák Rally Sport and nine in front of Team MRF Tyres, the winner of the prestigious award for the last two seasons.  

Eurosol Racing Team Hungary (below) is fourth after its home round of the ERC followed by newcomer ACCR Toyota Dolák.   

Eldorado X Humbility Sports completes the top six with Turán Motorsport Egyesulët in seventh and Topp-Cars Rally Team in eighth.   

Klaus Motorsport and Kole Media Center Kft round out the top 10 in ninth and 10th places respectively following the V-Híd Rally Hungary season opener.

To make the FIA European Rally Championship for Teams easier to follow and understand, and for clarification purposes, any ERC registered driver will be eligible to score Teams’ points regardless of the ERC category they contest. As previously a maximum of three cars can be registered for the purpose of scoring Teams’ championship points. A registered team entering more than three cars must nominate its scoring drivers prior to the completion of the administrative checking procedure. If no declaration is made, the team in question will not be eligible for points.  

While Paddon’s BRC Racing Team is a one-car operation and the New Zealander finished fourth overall, two of the drivers finishing ahead – Simone Tempestini and Mathieu Franceschi – were not chasing Teams’ championship points, which allowed BRC to claim 30 points. HRT Racing, which guided Miklós Csomós to third place, wasn’t eligible for points due to it not making its driver nomination as a four-car entrant.  

The full FIA European Rally Championship for Teams classification after round one of eight is available HERE.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM