Fri 03 May 2024

Kazaz leads Widłak in ERC3, Johansson tops ERC4 order

Kerem Kazaz holds the FIA ERC3 Championship initiative after the opening seven stages of Rally Islas Canarias.

Driving a Ford Fiesta Rally3 on MRF tyres, the teenager from Turkey is in a battle for supremacy with Poland’s Igor Widłak, the 2022 ERC3 champion.

Kazaz completed Friday’s first leg leading the Rally3-based division by 29.0sec after he set the pace on four stages, despite this being his debut on the all-asphalt event.

“We did some normal driving without pushing much,” said 18-year-old Kazaz, who is being co-driven by the experienced Hugo Magalhães for the first time. “I tried some different things with the driving style this morning and the car was too soft in the morning, moving around and not doing what I want. But it’s good, I am here.”

With Daniel Dymurski co-driving, Widłak was fastest on Thursday night’s super special and quickest again on SS5 aboard his Pirelli-equipped Fiesta.

“The feeling was good but it’s hard,” said Widłak. “But this rally is always hard even if the weather is nice. It’s impossible to come here for the first time and go flat but my experience is helping and the spectators on the Canary Islands are the best so I am happy and grateful to be here going rallying.”

Mille Johansson leads FIA ERC4 ahead of fellow Swede and Opel Rally4 driver Calle Carlberg with Timo Schulz making it a Corsa top three. The trio are also in contention for FIA Junior ERC honours and a report on the Hankook-equipped category will appear separately.

Saturday’s deciding leg begins with the 9.41km Arucas – Firgas test from 09:17 local time. The San Mateo – Valsequillo Power Stage is due to begin at 17:05 to bring the curtain down on the 48th Rally Islas Canarias.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM