Mon 06 May 2024

Michelin adds to ERC Tyre Supplier points total with Canarias 1-2

Michelin’s impressive start to the inaugural FIA European Rally Championship for Tyre Suppliers continued on Rally Islas Canarias last weekend when it scored a second consecutive one-two finish.

Having placed first and second on the gravel-based V-Híd Rally Hungary last month with Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 drivers Simone Tempestini and Mathieu Franceschi, Michelin celebrated further success on the Spanish island of Gran Canaria.   

On this occasion, Yoann Bonato (Citroën C3 Rally2) headed home Franceschi (pictured above) following 190 kilometres of intensive competition on all-asphalt stages.  

The result means Michelin scored 54 points and heads the new-for-2024 title standings by 28 points ahead of Pirelli, MRF Tyres and Hankook.

Meanwhile, Pirelli-shod Alejandro Cachón (above) completed the podium aboard his Toyota GR Yaris Rally2, with fourth-placed Diego Ruiloba also fitting Pirelli tyres to his Citroën C3 Rally2. The Spanish drivers scored a total of 40 points for Pirelli, which helped Igor Widłak win FIA ERC3 in his Ford Fiesta Rally3.  

Škoda Fabia RS Rally2-driving Efrén Llarena and Andrea Mabellini (below) claimed a combined 30 points for MRF with Filip Mareš (bottom image) scoring 15 points for Hankook aboard his Toyota GR Yaris Rally2.

With its focus on the FIA Junior Championship as the exclusive tyre supplier, Hankook also equipped first-time winner Mille Johansson (Opel Corsa Rally4), who added the FIA ERC4 win to his impressive trophy haul.    

In addition to Llarena and Mabellini, Indian manufacturer MRF equipped Kerem Kazaz, the runner-up in the FIA ERC3 category on Rally Islas Canarias.  

FIA European Rally Championship for Tyre Suppliers after round 2/8 (provisional):
1 Michelin: 108 points
2 Pirelli: 80 points
3 MRF: 58 points
4 Hankook: 43 points

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM