Winners and champions gather at ERC Awards Ceremony in Liepāja

Winners and champions gather at ERC Awards Ceremony in Liepāja

10/10/2017 00:00

Title-winning drivers and teams gathered for the FIA European Rally Championship Awards Ceremony in Liepāja tonight, 24 hours after the city’s gravel showcase brought the curtain down on the 2017 ERC season.

Castrol Ford Team Turkey, winner of the FIA European Rally Championship for Teams, FIA ERC Junior Under 28 champion Marijan Griebel, his FIA ERC Junior Under 27 counterpart Chris Ingram, FIA ERC2 champion Tibor Érdi Jr and ERC Ladies’ Trophy winner Tamara Molinaro were among the title winners in attendance.

Bruno Magalhães who lost out on the overall ERC title spoils to Kajetan Kajetanowicz, placed the Pole’s nameplate on the perpetual trophy after Kajetanowicz was unable to attend following the loss of a close friend in a helicopter accident on Sunday. Magalhães used the opportunity to congratulate his rival for his record-breaking third ERC title.

Alexey Lukyanuk – badly injured in a testing accident in early May – was given a standing ovation as he took to the stage to accept the Colin McRae ERC Flat Out Trophy of the Year for his determined performances in 2017.

Meanwhile, there was a special presentation to ERC logistics co-ordinator Manel Martinez by François Ribeiro, the Head of Eurosport Events, the ERC promoter, for his outstanding services to the championship.

The 2017 ERC Awards Ceremony took place at city’s spectacular Great Amber Concert Hall. City Mayor Uldis Sesks was among the guests for the evening.

Mārtiņš Sesks has regained first place in the FIA European Rally Championship’s Under 27 category on Azores Airlines Rallye, following adjustments to stage times awarded in SS8 and SS9 related to incidents causing delays for multiple drivers.

Tamara Molinaro continues to head the ERC Ladies’ Trophy category on the Azores Airlines Rallye, while Emma Falcón retired with back pain before midday service.

Sergei Remennik has resumed his lead of Azores Airlines Rallye’s FIA European Rally Championship ERC2 category, following an unfortunate retirement for nearest challenger Zelindo Melegari with clutch failure.

Diogo Gago took on the might of ADAC Opel Rallye Junior Team’s pair of FIA ERC Junior Under 27 factory drivers on the Azores Airlines Rallye’s Friday stages and succeeded aboard his PEUGEOT 208 R2, moving from third to first over the course of a dramatic multi-way battle.

Chris Ingram and Martin Koči traded places throughout Friday’s Azores Airlines Rallye stages in a tight battle for FIA ERC Junior Under 28 victory.

The Azores Airlines Rallye once again showed why it is such a formidable opening round of the FIA European Rally Championship, but as others hit trouble, Russian Performance Motorsport’s Alexey Lukyanuk held steady out front.