The ERC and how it works

Welcome to the 2023 FIA European Rally Championship and to another exciting season. Once again, every stage from all eight rounds will be streamed live and on demand for fans to watch whenever, wherever and however they want through WRC Promoter’s WRC+ streaming platform at



The ERC is made up of three main categories, ERC (for Rally2 cars), ERC3 (for Rally3 cars) and ERC4 (for Rally4 and Rally5 cars). There’s also Junior ERC for drivers 27 and under on 1 January 2023 in Rally4 or Rally5 cars using Hankook tyres.



Events are held over four days. The first one and a half days are taken up with reconnaissance. The focus then swiftly turns to Free Practice and the Qualifying Stage for Rally2 drivers. They get two runs in Free Practice and a single run over the Qualifying Stage, the results of which are used to help set the starting order for leg one. All other drivers complete their rally preparations in shakedown, which starts once the Qualifying Stage has finished. The end of day two is usually filled with a ceremonial start or superspecial stage ahead of two full days of rally action. All ERC events will be decided on the event-closing Power Stage.



Points are awarded to the top 15 finishers in each category on the following descending scale:

Pos 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Pts 30 24 21 19 17 15 13 11 9 7 5 4 3 2 1

In ERC, ERC3 and ERC4 drivers count their best seven scores from a possible eight. In Junior ERC it’s five rounds from six. The fastest five drivers on the Power Stage score points on a descending scale as follows: 

Pos 1 2 3 4 5
Pts 5 4 3 2 1


To score points in the FIA European Rally Championship for Teams, competitors must register in ERC, ERC3 or ERC4 under a team name. A maximum of three cars may be registered for the purpose of scoring Team points. A registered Team can score points with the two best placed cars of its Team in the final classification of each rally. For the purpose of calculating points, cars driven by ERC4 priority drivers will score points within their own group.



The following titles are up for grabs in 2023:

  • FIA European Championship for Drivers, Co-Drivers and Teams
  • FIA ERC3 for Drivers and Co-Drivers
  • FIA ERC4 for Drivers and Co-Drivers
  • FIA ERC4 Junior (for drivers only)



To score ERC points, drivers must use tyres from a registered manufacturer. So far for 2023, MICHELIN and MRF have registered, while all Junior ERC entrants must use tyres from Hankook. Tyre use is restricted according to category.



Testing is restricted to control costs, essentially to one day per rally.