Nitišs the winner, Érdi Jr the ERC2 champion

Nitišs the winner, Érdi Jr the ERC2 champion

08/10/2017 21:00

FIA World Rallycross Championship star Reinis Nitišs took full advantage of fellow Latvian Jānis Vorobjovs going off the road on SS8 to win ERC2 on his third rally.

Tibor Érdi Jr, who finished second, took the title ahead of Zelingo Melegari after the Italian retired on the final stage stranded in a ditch.

Sergey Remennik had been second but stopped to change a damaged tyre on SS10. He finished third to round out a promising maiden ERC campaign under the guidance of driver coach Alexey Lukyanuk, who had been leading outright until an electrical fault dropped him back.


José Suárez completed his maiden season of FIA European Rally Championship action by finishing second among the ERC Junior U28 contingent on Rally Liepāja to secure third in the final class reckoning.

Krisóf Klausz’s strong end to the 2017 FIA ERC Junior Under 27 Championship continued when he finished sixth in class on Rally Liepāja.

Aleks Zawada says there were “a lot of positives” after his bid for the FIA ERC Junior Under 27 Championship – and the 100,000 euros prize fund – ultimately ended in disappointment in Latvia earlier this month.

Kalle Rovanperä says Nikolay Gryazin is the ultimate rival after the talented young guns locked horns on the closing round of the 2017 FIA European Rally Championship recently.

Jari Huttunen has spoken of his disappointment after losing out on the FIA ERC Junior Under 27 title to Opel team-mate Chris Ingram in a final-round decider in Latvia earlier this month.

Łukasz Habaj wishes his first podium in the FIA European Rally Championship had come in happier circumstances.