Fri 03 Jun 2022

Title protagonists and local aces star in Poland entry

A whopping fifty-two FIA European Rally Championship (ERC) crews will contest Orlen 78th Rally Poland next week (11 - 12 June).

The entry list for round four of the championship was released yesterday (Thursday) and features 22 registered crews in Rally2 cars as well as a strong line-up of ERC Open and ERC3 challengers. 

An impressive 21 Rally4-specification cars are also listed, 16 of which will fight for Junior ERC championship honours. 

Championship leader Efrén Llarena tops the list. He will be joined in the Team MRF Tyres Škoda squad by Simone Campedelli and Norbert Herczig along with new signing Javier Pardo. Mārtiņš Sesks will also drive for the MRF team, albeit in ERC Open with a Fabia Rally2 Kit.

Rally Islas Canarias winner Nil Solans has also secured an entry in his trusty Volkswagen Polo. The Spaniard holds second in the standings, despite missing the round two due to financial constraints. 

Last year’s ERC podium-finisher Miko Marczyk returns to the championship for his home round and will definitely be one to watch. The Fabia man is contesting WRC Rally Italia Sardegna this week and has been showing impressive pace on the world stage this year.

Championship regulars Simone Tempestini and Alberto Battistolli have both entered Škoda cars, while former FIA Junior WRC champion Tom Kristensson will debut a Hyundai i20 R5. Czech pilot Filip Mares wheels out a Fabia for the first time since his Barum podium in 2021.

Local drivers are also well-represented. They include Grzegorz Grzyb (Škoda), Lukasz Kotarba (Citroën C3 Rally2) and Maciej Lubiak (Škoda).

The three-day fixture is based in Mikołajki, from where competitors will tackle 14 special stages covering almost 190km.

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM