Sat 04 Nov 2023

Vote for the greatest-ever ERC driver

The past 70 years of the FIA European Rally Championship have created legends in the sport. But who was the greatest of the lot? That is the task for you to figure out.

Throughout November our 70th anniversary celebrations continue across our platforms as we seek the greatest driver to compete in the ERC. We have put in the hard work, whittling down the list of drivers from thousands to 16.


We have taken a data-based approach to finding the top 12, keeping subjectivity to a minimum. These are the drivers who have won at least two championships. Four wildcards have also been selected, based on drivers to have the biggest impact on a certain era of the ERC. Do you agree with these four? We want to hear who you would have put as your wildcards…


Employing bracketology, voting begins on Tuesday 07 November at 11:00 CET with a 24-hour window to vote for each pairing. Drivers have been seeded based on championships won, outright wins and podiums achieved. 


We will continue to whittle down the drivers before arriving at the greatest, based on your votes on 1 December.


Check back in on Tuesday and start voting!

First round line-ups:

Fabrizio Tabaton v Alexey Lukyanuk

Walter Schock v Renato Travaglia

Giandomenico Basso v Simon Jean-Joseph

Dario Cerrato v Gunnar Andersson

Bernard Daniche v Patrick Snijers

Sobiesław Zasada v Antonio Zanini

Kajetan Kajetanowicz v Jan Kopecký

Luca Rossetti v Rauno Aaltonen

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM