Sat 18 Nov 2023

ERC Greatest Driver quarter-final line-up all set

The line-up for the ERC Greatest Driver quarter-final stage has been finalised as the search to find out who fans of the FIA European Rally Championship believe was the best of the best enters its third week.

With the round of 16 completed, Giandomenico Basso, Dario Cerrato, Fabrizio Tabaton and Renato Travaglia have all made it through to the next knock-out phase, with Tabaton the last to qualify after he received more votes than Alexey Lukyunak in Thursday’s face-off.    Luca Rossetti, Kajetan Kajetanowicz, Sobiesław Zasada and Patrick Snijers topped their respective head-to-head battles during the first week of voting.  

Sixteen drivers were selected for the ERC Greatest Driver vote with taking a data-based approach to pick out 12 drivers who have won the coveted European Rally Championship at least two times. Four wildcards, based on their impact during a certain ERC era, were also selected. The ERC Greatest Driver, according to your votes, will be revealed on 1 December.  

The ERC Greatest Driver quarter-final voting begins on Monday (20 November) with three-time European champions Kajetan Kajetanowicz and Luca Rossetti going head-to-head for victory. Sobiesław Zasada will then take on Patrick Snijers on Tuesday before Dario Cerrato and Giandomenico Basso go for a place in the semi-finals on Wednesday. Thursday’s contest, the second all-Italian battle of the week, is between Fabrizio Tabaton and Renato Travaglia.  

Results so far:  

Week 1:
Rauno Aaltonen versus Luca Rossetti: 
Rossetti wins after receiving 59 % of the vote
Kajetan Kajetanowicz versus Jan Kopecký: Kajetanowicz wins with 68 % of the vote
Sobiesław Zasada versus Antonio Zanini: Zasada wins with 76 % of the vote
Bernard Darniche versus Patrick Snijers: Snijers wins with 79 % of the vote

Week 2:

Gunnar Andersson versus Dario Cerrato: Cerrato wins with 79 % of the vote
Giandomenico Basso versus Simon Jean-Joseph: Basso wins with 75 % of the vote
Walter Schock versus Renato Travaglia: Travaglia wins with 92 % of the vote
Alexey Lukyanuk versus Fabrizio Tabaton: Tabaton wins with 53 % of the vote

Starts: Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 4:31:00 AM
Starts: Friday, July 26, 2024 at 7:00:00 AM
Starts: Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 6:00:00 AM