Official Series Partners

Rally Liepaja 2020

Rally Liepaja 2020 - 14-16/08/2020

Where: Liepāja, Latvia

The rally in 100 words: The brainchild of driver turned promoter Raimonds Strokšs and first run to great acclaim in 2013, Rally Liepāja was originally a winter event but switched to autumn in 2016 for more guaranteed weather. The new date effectively made for an all-new rally as crews adjusted to gravel roads free of snow and ice. Although the time of year had changed, the high-speed stages in western Latvia continued to thrill drivers and spectators alike. Organisers of this forward-thinking event made more changes for 2019 with a late May date and an expanded route taking in popular stages around the Talsi region.

Event eligibility:
FIA European Rally Championship 2020, round 2 of 5
FIA ERC1 Junior Championship 2020, round 2 of 5
FIA ERC3 Junior Championship 2020, round 2 of 5

Abarth Rally Cup 2020, round 2 of 5

Also counting for…
​FIA ERC2, FIA ERC3, FIA European Rally Championship for Teams

What’s new for 2020?
Mass-gathering restrictions have resulted in a number of measures being implemented. These include: a reduced number of spectator tickets will be sold in advance only, there will be no ceremonial start, podium finish or autograph session. The planned city stages in Talsi and Liepāja have been cancelled, while there will be no access for fans to the service park in Liepāja. Furthermore, the competitive action is contained within 180 kilometres to reduce costs. There will also be a focus on FIA Action for Environment-related activities, such as recycling.

Recent winners:
Oliver Solberg/Aaron Johnston (Volkswagen Polo GTI R5)
2019: Oliver Solberg/Aaron Johnston (Volkswagen Polo GTI R5)
2018: Nikolay Gryazin/Yaroslav Fedorov (ŠKODA Fabia R5)
2017: Nikolay Gryazin/Yaroslav Fedorov (ŠKODA Fabia R5)
2016: Ralfs Sirmacis/Arturs Šimins (ŠKODA Fabia R5)

Five facts:
Rally Liepāja ran for the first time in 2013 with Jari Ketomaa/Kaj Lindström taking victory in a Ford Fiesta RRC. It was the first and only year the really finished in Ventspils, up the Baltic coast from the host city.
2: In recent years, Rally Liepāja has formed part of the Festival of Speed Kurzeme, which brings powerboat racing to the city’s Tirdzniecības canal, plus other motorised attractions to the local area.
3: Two former Liepāja winners, Craig Breen and Esapekka Lappi, have both gone on to secure factory drives in the World Rally Championship, while Nikolay Gryazin is part of Hyundai’s WRC2 line-up.
4: Oliver Solberg is the event’s youngest winner, taking top spot in 2019 aged 17 years, eight months and three days. In fact, the result made him the youngest ERC event winner.
5: Liepāja can claim to be the only Latvian city outside the capital Riga to offer air, land and sea transport options, while its former city council chairperson, Uldis Sesks, is an ex-rally driver of note and father of Mārtiņš Sesks, the 2018 FIA ERC3 and ERC3 Junior champion.

Event essentials:
Free Practice for priority drivers: 15h00-17h15, Friday 14 August, Grobiņa Municipality (4.61kms)
Qualifying Stage for priority drivers: 17h30-19h15, Friday 14 August, Grobiņa Municipality (4.61kms)
Shakedown for all drivers: 19h15-20h00, Friday 14 August, Grobiņa Municipality (4.61kms)
Pre-event press conference: Streamed live from 20h15 on Friday 14 August via Facebook. The following drivers will take part: Nikolay Gryazin, Emil Lindholm, Alexey Lukyanuk, Mads Østberg, Mārtiņš Sesks and Oliver Solberg
Post-event press conference: Details of live streaming to be confirmed
There will be no ceremonial start of podium finish due to COVID-19 restrictions

Headquarters: Liepāja Olympic Centre, Brīvības Street 39, Liepāja
ERC appearances (since 2004 restructuring): 7 (2013-2019)
Stages: 10
Stage distance: 177.87 kilometres
Liaison distance: 528.77 kilometres
Total distance: 706.64 kilometres
Surface: Gravel
Free Practice (for priority drivers): 15h00-17h15, Friday 14 August, Grobiņa Municipality, Liepāja (4.61kms)
Qualifying Stage (for priority drivers): 17h30-19h15, Friday 14 August, Grobiņa Municipality, Liepāja (4.61kms)
Shakedown (for all drivers): 19h15-20h00, Friday 14 August, Grobiņa Municipality, Liepāja (4.61kms)

Resources available:
*Supplementary regulations
*Rally Guides
*Entry list
*Overview maps
*Start lists

Results and live timing:


Liepāja - 22 Jan

Overcast Clouds